First Gorillaz Album in Six Years


Donovan Brooks, Staff Writer

The British Visual Band, Gorillaz, have recently risen from their six-year hiatus. They have announced the release date of their new album, Humanz: April 28. The fans had previously thought Gorillaz had broken up for good, but they surprised everyone with the release of their song “Hallelujah Money” on the day of Donald Trump’s Inauguration. This is one of the most politically charged songs on the album, although the album itself is not meant to be a political statement.

“It’s humanz with a Z, which, simply put, [means] we’re in transition. We’re turning into something else,” said creator Damon Albarn to BBC Radio 1, “It’s a party record, a club record. But it’s got this weird darkness about it.”

Of the 19 tracks to be on the final LP, four have been released, aside from “Hallelujah Money”. The music videos for these four tracks are interconnected, and form a short film; this is something that Gorillaz have been known for throughout their careers.

The first song is “Ascension”, featuring rapper Vince Staples. This is followed by “Saturnz Barz (Spirit House)”, which features up-and-coming reggae artist Popcaan. This video features a 3D version, which can be used with VR technology. It features the new Phase 4 character designs, which are pretty interesting.

2D is seen wearing extremely high-waisted pants, and exhibits an overall 70s rock aesthetic. Noodle is now a grown woman, and wears her hair in a couple of pigtails. She also wears glasses with different colored lenses, and is seen wearing glasses in the album art as well. Russell is no longer a giant, like he was in Phase 3. Finally, Murdoc is drawn in a much cleaner style; he looks much less witch-like.

Continuing on, the next two videos are “We Got The Power” and “Andromeda”, featuring D.R.A.M.. He is only one of the collaborators on this album, and there are a lot of them. The collaborators not previously mentioned are: Peven Everett, De La Soul, Danny Brown, Kelela, Grace Jones, Anthony Hamilton, Mavis Staples, Pusha T, Jamie Principle, Zebra Katz, Kali Uchis, Benjamin Clementine, Savages’ Jehnny Beth, Rag’n’ Bone Man, RAY BLK, Kilo Kish, Imani Vonsh, Carly Simon, and Brandon Markell Holmes.

Gorillaz will go on a tour, titled “Demon Dayz”, where they will perform music from Humanz. The album itself will be available as a standard version (14 tracks), and a deluxe version (19 tracks).